Your Government

The Syracuse City Council is composed of five Council Members and the Mayor. All members are elected by the residents of the City during a municipal election held every two years. Each seat consists of a four year term. Council Member terms are staggered; two Members and the Mayor are elected at one time, and two years later the other three Members are elected.  Council members elected in November take office in January. 

The City Administrator manages the day-to-day of Syracuse's operations and reports to the City Council and Mayor. 

Syracuse's phenomenal residential and corporate growth has been comfortably balanced within this form of government. Boards and Commissions, made up of resident volunteers, ensure that all Syracuse activities are grounded in our historic legacies and the quality of life business and residential partners seek when moving here. Find out how you can participate on one of these citizen boards under the Boards and Commissions section.